How It Works
Change State

Florida Traffic School

Fix Your Florida Ticket

Simple to do. Easy to Complete. No Hidden Fees.

Work at Your Own Pace

Instant Online Certificate

Unlimited Exam Retakes

You Can't Fail!

Quality Courses from America's Leader in Online Traffic School

Florida DHSMV Approved

BDI Point Dismissal

Dismiss a traffic ticket to keep points from showing on your driving record.

$24.97



DHSMV Required

If you received a letter from the DHSMV telling you to take a BDI course.

$24.97



Court Ordered

Your court requires you to take a Driver Improvement course.

4-Hour Course - $24.97 Enroll Now

8-Hour Course - $49.95 Enroll Now

Insurance Discount

You are taking this course to receive a discount on your insurance.

BDI Course - $24.97 Enroll Now

Mature Driver Course - $14.95 Enroll Now

12-Hour Florida Traffic School (ADI)

We have partnered with I Drive Safely to provide you with an ADI course.

$89.00


NOTE: If you need a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) to get your Learner's License, please click here.

See What Our Customers Are Saying About Us

These reviews are submitted to an independent, third party website, TrustPilot. They are actual reviews and have not been edited by Traffic School Online.





Frequently Asked Questions


Yes, TrafficSchoolOnline is a licensed provider. We are licensed by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. Our School identification number is 21809.
The course is designed to fulfill the 4 hour state requirement. There are 12 units in the course followed by 12 review quizzes. Unlimited retakes are available on the final exam, 80% is required to pass.
$24.97 includes certificate delivery. Visa and MasterCard are accepted, or you may pay by Cashiers Check or Money Order.

We do offer a low price guarantee. Simply supply us with the web address of the competing school. We will match upon verification of the final price. All price adjustments must be made prior to course payment.
Once in any 12-month period but no more than five times in your lifetime.
All fines must be paid to the court prior to attending traffic school.
Your certificate is sent to the court/DMV or to you directly; according to the court or DMV requirements. When you register for the course you will receive specific information regarding your certificate processing.
You will want to complete the course in plenty of time to get the certificate to the court prior to your due date.
Yes. We offer a 4-hour voluntary Florida course for personal enrichment. The course is $24.97 with no hidden fees.

General Information About Florida’s BDI 4 Hour Course

Florida’s four-hour BDI course is approved by the DHSMV to allow Florida drivers to:

  • dismiss a traffic ticket or citation to avoid having points posted to their drivers record.
  • comply with a court or DHSMV decree to take the course due to serious traffic violations.
  • if you were at fault in a traffic collision and were ordered to take the course.
  • voluntarily take the course in order to reduce your insurance rates.

Within 30 days from the date you received the traffic citation and prior to attending class, you must:

  1. inform the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation that you want to go to traffic school.
  2. pay a traffic school fee to the Clerk of Court in the county where you received the citation.

You may contact the traffic school of your choice to register for class however, this course must be approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV.)

A full list of your options for satisfying your traffic citation is on the back of the citation. You are required to choose one of the three options within 30 days of receiving the citation.

  1. You must complete a basic driver improvement course (Traffic Collision Avoidance Course) if you want to retain your driver license in Florida for the following circumstance:
    • You were a driver in a crash and are found at fault and
      • someone was transported to the hospital or
      • you had two crashes within a two-year period, which resulted in property damage greater than $500.
    • Passed a stopped school bus
    • Highway Racing
    • Highway Racing - Spectator
    • Reckless Driving
    • Running a red light
  2. If you receive a ticket for a non-criminal moving violation, and you do not hold a commercial driver license, you may elect to attend a 4 hour basic driver improvement course in lieu of points on your driving record.
  3. In some cases, you may choose to attend a basic driver improvement course to receive insurance discounts. This discount is solely at the discretion of your insurance company.

If, as a result of a moving violation, you elect to enroll in and complete a basic driver improvement course, you will receive the following benefits:

  1. Your insurance rates cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled because of this violation, unless this involved a crash where you were at fault.
  2. Points may not be added to your driver license record, adjudication of guilt is withheld, and safe driver status is maintained if applicable. You may not choose traffic school under this subsection if you have completed traffic school in the past 12 months.

Please Note: If you hold a Class A, B, or C license these benefits may not apply to you.

Because different counties and courts use different names for their local traffic schools, the state of Florida DHSMV has adopted many names, including:

  • the Florida 4 hour course.
  • Defensive Driving.
  • BDI.
  • Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC).
  • Traffic School.
  • Defensive Driving.
  • Basic Driver Improvement.

TrafficSchoolOnline.com is approved to offer all of these courses in Florida.

Eligibility / Requirements for Taking FL 4 Hour Course

  • To Avoid Points From A Ticket - You can take traffic school 5 times in a lifetime and only once every twelve (12) months.
  • Tickets For Non-Criminal Moving Violation - You may elect to attend a basic driver improvement course to avoid points on your driving record. (You may not take this option if you have a Commercial Driver License.)

No. If you chooses NOT to attend a driver improvement course and you have paid the civil fine the court will considered that you have admitted to committing the traffic violation or infraction and that you have plead guilty.

If this is the case, you must also pay the clerk of the court the amount of the ticket, a $10 processing fee and a $16.00 late fee. There are no other penalties or court costs you will have to pay. The clerk of court will notify the DHSMV of the your failure to attend the BDI or driver improvement course and points for the violation will be added to your driving record.

It does not matter where you live. With the Internet, you are able to take Traffic School Online. The nations first online course, TrafficSchoolOnline.com was approved in 1998 and offers traffic school, defensive driving and driver improvement courses throughout the country. In fact, they are an approved Florida Course provider.

When signing up for the course, you will need to provide the name of the county where you received your ticket and all paperwork will be delivered to the DHSMV on behalf of the county court.

You are still required to either pay the traffic ticket, fight the traffic ticket or complete an online traffic school.

If you are a Florida driver between 15-17 years old and you have not applied for your Florida Class E License, you may take and complete a 4 hour basic driver improvement course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). (Note: you must have had your license for at least 12 months without a traffic conviction BEFORE you may apply for a Florida Class E license.)

If you already have your Florida Class E license and you get a ticket that adds 6 points to your Florida driving record, for 12 months or until you reach the age of 18, you will be restricted to driving for business purposes only. If you receive additional points then this time restriction will be increased. In order to dismiss the points and avoid any convictions that will add points to your driving record, you may take and complete an online 4 hour basic driver improvement course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) and receive a Florida traffic ticket, you must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction. Depending on the type of violation, you could face a fine, CDL suspension, or even permanent revocation.

Fees and Fines for FL Traffic Violations

Yes. For the exact cost of the civil fine, contact the Traffic Division of the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your citation.

Yes. The cost ranges between $22.95 and $45 so be careful when you find a company that advertises a lower price.

Consequences For Receiving a Traffic Ticket in Florida

  • If you have a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) and have been cited for speeding more than 30 MPH over the limit, you may not attend traffic school.
  • If you have taken a traffic school (BDI) course within the past 12 months, or if you have elected five times within your lifetime, you cannot take a traffic school course.

If you choose to pay the civil penalty or are declared guilty by a judge, your driver record will be assessed as follows:

Moving Violations3 points
Speeding 15 m.p.h or less over posted speed3 points
Speeding more than 15 m.p.h. over posted speeds4 points
Passing stopped school bus4 points
Moving violation (non-speeding) resulting in an crash4 points
Unlawful speed resulting in a crash6 points
Reckless driving (criminal traffic violation)4 points
Leaving scene of crash with damage6 points
Littering3 points
Violation of child restraint laws3 points

If you accumulate:

  • 12 points in 12 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days;
  • 18 points within 18 months results in a 3 month suspension;
  • 24 points within 36 months results in a 12 month suspension.

Yes, you can fight your ticket. Traffic Ticket Attorneys / Lawyers at different law firms have defended millions traffic tickets and traffic offenses. If you have been charged with any traffic ticket or offense in Florida, or your license has been suspended or revoked, there are traffic ticket lawyers who may be able to help you get back on the road.

The Florida DHSMV offers a free service that can tell you which court you need to contact. The service is driver license check. This service will provide the name of the court and their phone number.

If you need to know what your ticket is for and how much you’ll need to pay, please contact them for details.


100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

If you’re not satisfied, we’ll refund the course fee.

satisfaction guaranteed

6 Good Reasons, More and More Students are Choosing Us

Instant Completion Results, 7 Day Customer Service, Unlimited 24/7 Access


set your own pace

Set Your Own Pace

The course allows you to log in and out at any time so you can complete the course whenever it is convenient for you.

help is here

Help is Here

Our superior customer support team is available 7 days a week via phone, e-mail and live chat to assist you.

get the lowest price

Get the Lowest Price

If you find a lower price we will match it. Simply contact us prior to completing your course registration.


free audio narration

Free Audio Narration

The interactive course includes free audio narration so you can choose to listen along or read the transcript.

interactive elements

Interactive Elements

Our fully interactive course is complete with interactive learning exercises, quizzes, videos, and animations.

online certificate

Online Certificate

Once you complete the course your certificate will be available immediately for you to print.

demo video

Interactive Demonstration Course

Take our brief five minute introduction course FREE to learn what to expect from our defensive driving course.


Try FREE Demo

Are You Ready To Take Care of Your Ticket Simply and Easily?