Register - California Traffic School
Is this the right course for me?
Terms and Conditions
A registration fee will be charged to you. The course fee includes all required instructional materials and the standard certificate processing service. You will be asked to pay before you can begin the course and before we process your documents. You may make payment by credit card and PayPal over the internet, or by phone, or you can mail a money order.
Arizona Only: All fees will be sent to the appropriate state agencies and courts on your behalf. This process will be done following the guidelines that the State of Arizona requires.
The course will be available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This availability may be affected by circumstances such as, but not limited to: system, site or connectivity failure over which the course owner has no control.
Virginia Only: You may only attempt the final exam once a day.
The course provider will not sell, distribute and/or reveal any of your personal information except to persons authorized by the court or the state you are taking the course for. In some cases, we may collect information about you that is not personally identifiable. Examples of this include the internet browser and computer operating system you are using, and the URL of the website you found us on. This information is solely used for our own statistics and to make appropriate system/course upgrades.
Arizona Only: Once you agree to the terms, and make payment, you will need to send us a copy of your ticket and driver’s license so we can verify your information. We will also use this information to check your eligibility for defensive driving with the State of Arizona. Commercial licensed drivers are never eligible to take defensive driving courses unless court ordered (Arizona Statute 28-3392C).
Virginia Only: If you have a commercial driver's license, you may not take this course. However, you may be eligible to take this course to add five safe driving points to your record if you have not taken a course in the past two years.
If you are under the age of 20, you may not take this course even if the DMV is asking you to. Please refer to the Virginia DMV's website for a classroom listing: http://www.dmv.state.va.us/webdoc/citizen/drivers/clinics.asp.
This course may be taken once every two years for only one reason, unless you are ordered by a court to take the course more than once within the two year time period.
Texas Only: My signature on my certificate certifies that all information I have provided is true. Under penalty of law, I attest to the fact that the student whose name and signature appears on this document has successfully completed the number of hours as required under Texas Education Code, Chapter 1001, and that any false information on this document will be used as evidence in a court of law and/or administrative proceeding.
If you're not sure if you have met the requirements, you can contact us.
Arizona Only: You will need access to a printer, fax, scanner, or digital camera to send us the required paperwork to finish enrollment.
COMPLETION, GRADING, AND CERTIFICATION POLICY
You agree to complete and pass all units of the curriculum, and a final exam, before their completion can be processed. Progress can be tracked at any time by clicking “course” while logged in.
You may log in and out of the course when you like, as long as you complete on, or before, your due date assigned by the court or DMV.
RULES OF OPERATION AND CONDUCT
You agree that only you will study the material, complete the chapter quizzes, and take the final exam. You may be expelled for attempting to circumvent any security measures, or allowing someone else to do any part of this course for you, or for rude, vulgar, or disruptive behavior on the phone or via email to any of the website’s employees. If the course provider discovers that you have willfully submitted false information, have cheated, or violated the rules of conduct, you will be stopped from taking the course with no refund of the registration fees. In addition, you may be prosecuted for perjury and other criminal acts punishable by law. You are not entitled to a refund if you have been expelled for a security violation.
Because the program is self-paced, many students with reading, hearing, or learning conditions may find that by taking a little extra time, they can pass the course. If the course does not meet your needs, you can contact customer support for assistance or a potential refund.
CANCELLATION AND REFUND POLICIES
You are eligible for a full refund and cancellation of your course as long as it’s requested within 30 days of registering and before you complete the course (excludes Arizona students, please read below for Arizona refund policies). You are not entitled to a refund at any time if you have been expelled for a security violation, or you have successfully completed the course.
If you have successfully completed the course and the jurisdiction will not accept the completion (with the exception of Arizona), the original certificate of completion must be returned within 30 days from the completion of the course. State or agency fees, and a $5.00 processing fee, will be withheld. The remaining balance will be refunded.
If a course fee refund is granted within 90 days, it will be sent by the same method as the original payment. Refunds after 90 days will be issued at our discression. Approved refunds can only be issued by mailed check and a check processing fee, will be withheld. By agreeing to these terms, any credit card charges pertaining to the above fees cannot be disputed through the lending credit card if you do not qualify for a refund. Any reference to a “money back guarantee” on our website(s) does not apply to the Arizona course
Arizona Only: Once you have agreed to these terms, submitted payment, and have begun the course, the State of Arizona cannot offer a refund for any court or state fees unless:
a) An officer fails to file the citation with your court and the cited driver attends a diversion course for it.b) When a citation is dismissed by a jurisdictional court on its own motion, for technical problems that are not correctable under civil traffic rules.c) The court requests the refund to be granted.
CREDIT CARD DISPUTES
Before filing a dispute for either an unauthorized payment with your credit card, or for any other reasons, you will need to contact our customer service team to resolve it within 90 days of payment (800-800-3579). If you contact our customer service department, we will need the following information:
Name of the cardholder, student name, and student ID#
Contact information (phone & email)
Date of charge, amount of charge
Brief description of the dispute
We will then contact the cardholder within two business days to resolve the dispute.
You, and the cardholder (if applicable), agree that if a dispute is filed with their financial company without first contacting us:
You forfeit any course fees.
You may be required to pay a $75.00 dispute processing fee.
Your completion/certificate will become void and the appropriate authorities and jurisdictions will be notified.
You cannot use a credit card which does not belong to you without permission from the cardholder. Otherwise, your completion/certificate will become void and the appropriate authorities and jurisdictions will be notified.
If you choose to print this page, you will have a copy of the outlined fees; cancellation and refund policy; and school regulations pertaining to grading policy, progress, and rules of operation and conduct. If you choose not to print it, you can always find it in our FAQs.
REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES
You agree that all personal information given, and which will be given, is true and correct. Any intention to give us false information is a breach of these terms and conditions and may be liable for damages sustained to our company. This agreement constitutes the entire contract between the course provider and yourself, and verbal assurances or promises not contained herein shall not be binding.
LIMITATION OF LIABILITY
You acknowledge and agree that the liability of our company, agents, and employees for any act, omission to act, or negligence is strictly limited up to the amount of the registration fee paid by you or the cardholder.
DMV LEGAL NOTICE AND DISCLAIMER
California Only: The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) recognizes the right of private enterprises to advertise and distribute information related to their business functions. DMV promotes the free exchange of information, ideas, and opinions, except when the content may invade personal privacy, violate property rights, constitute libel, or be a violation of any applicable federal, state, or local laws.
While this lesson plan content may have been approved by DMV, the distribution, advertising, and other information provided by this vendor is not guaranteed by DMV, nor does it represent the views of the department.
You are advised that the DMV, unless statutorily required, has no continuing obligation to provide information to an approved course web site or printed publication.
The DMV assumes no responsibility for erroneous, incomplete, or out-of-date information. The user should contact the provider and/or DMV to ensure that the information herein is current and accurate. All warranties of any kind, including, but not limited to, the IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, freedom from contamination by computer viruses, and non-infringement of proprietary rights ARE DISCLAIMED.
You are advised that the DMV is not responsible for the content of any off-site web pages referenced from or to an approved course web site or home study publication. In addition, DMV and the State of California are not responsible for the content of files that are uploaded for inclusion.
The user should not rely on the presentation of statutes or regulations referenced in an approved website or printed publication, but should consult the actual text of the law. Legal requirements frequently change and the user may wish to seek the advice of counsel.
If you find any errors, omissions, or have a complaint regarding the educational content, we encourage you to report them to the education provider. In the event the issue is not resolved to your satisfaction you may call the department at (916) 229-3154.
This course is not intended as training from a licensed driving school. It does not meet the standards, training, or requirements in preparation for being issued a driver license. This course has been reviewed and approved to meet the requirements for the traffic violator school program. Completion documentation will not be issued to those not meeting the traffic violator school program criteria.
Pursuant to Vehicle Code section 1808.7, the following situations are not eligible for masking a traffic safety violation on a California driver record:
The driver has already attended a traffic violator course within 18 months of the conviction.
The driver holds a commercial license as defined in Vehicle Code section 15210.
The driver holds a commercial driver license from out of state.
The violation occurred in a commercial motor vehicle as defined in Vehicle Code section 15210.
The violator has not paid a deposit of fees or bail, and has not pleaded guilty, no contest, or been convicted by the court of jurisdiction.
The conviction would result in a violation point count of more than one point pursuant to Vehicle Code section 12810. A list of Vehicle Code two point violations may be found on the Department of Motor Vehicles website, www.dmv.ca.gov.
We're Dedicated to Your Safety in All Forms
We keep your personal information confidential.
We've provided online defensive courses since 1997, and we want you to feel comfortable doing business with us. Here are some measures we've taken to protect your information:
- Amazon has verified that our site has adequate security settings.
- We encrypt information sent through our site using SSL before transmission for greatest security.
- We've also undergone a malware scan, so you can be confident you won't receive any hidden, malicious software from our site.
TrafficSchoolOnline.com has submitted to these evaluations to give our customers confidence. We won't give your information to inappropriate parties, and you'll never find yourself downloading unwanted software.