There is nothing more frustrating than having to pay an unexpected penalty; especially if you genuinely did not know the traffic laws of the region you were in. The truth is that ignorance of the law is no excuse. If you are planning a summer road trip, or travel often, it is probably a good idea to know which states give the most tickets and the penalties you could be facing. At the end of the day, it is up to you to keep yourself and your pocketbook safe.
There are a lot of crazy stories that come out of Florida, which is why it is almost unbelievable that they won the award for most tickets given out. If you get caught with simple speeding you can expect charges up to $250 and you can lose your license for up to 30 days. If the violation exceeds minor speeding penalties you can expect up to 500 dollars in fees and 90 days without a license.
The state of Georgia ties for second in the state that hands out the most speeding tickets. Though they may not hand out as many as Florida, their punishments are much harsher. A first-time violator can expect fees and punishments up to $1,000, one year in jail, and five years without a license. In a strange twist, the same punishments apply to more serious traffic violations.
It turns out that Nevada is the last place you want to gamble when it comes to speeding. They tie Georgia in tickets issued but are not quite as harsh with their penalties. If you get caught over the speed limit in Nevada you will see fees up to $1,000, six months in jail, and losing your license for an entire year. Just like in Georgia, the fees do not increase with the crime severity.
The state of Texas comes in 3rd - or 4th depending on how you look at it - in the number of tickets issued. Texas is an interesting entry, not only because they are a larger state, but because their penalties are much lower. A speeding ticket in Texas will get you as little as a $1 fine but could fetch up to $200. A license suspension of up to one year is also in play. More serious infractions carry the same penalties with the added possibility of one year of jail time.
If you haven't gotten the notion yet, you should probably adhere to the speed limit when you are in the south. Alabama rounds out the top five states you don't want to get caught in. Violators in Alabama will see fees up to $100 dollars, 10 days of jail time, and a 1-year license suspension. More severe crimes garner up to $500, 3 months jail time, and 6 months without a license.
Of course, the cost of a ticket is only the beginning of your woes when you get pulled over. There are increases in insurance costs and even legal fees. There are other fees that you wouldn't even think of until you lose your license like the cost of a bus pass or a taxi ride. We all make mistakes and it is not the worst thing in the world to incur a speeding ticket, but it is always smart to adhere to speed limits and know the laws of whichever state you are traveling in.
Don't forget that there are often ways around these penalties. It all depends on the state, but there are many ways to fight a ticket; explore your options before you give in and pay for the ticket. If you must accept a punishment look into traffic school, especially online traffic school, as a way to lessen your penalties.