Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Utah! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Utah. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
|Reckless Driving||80 points|
|Speeding 1-10 mph over||35 points|
|Speeding 11-20 mph over||55 points|
|Speeding 21+ mph over||75 points|
|Failure to Yield Right-of-Way||60 points|
|Following Too Closely||60 points|
|Wrong Way on One-Way Street||60 points|
|Running a Red Traffic Light||50 points|
|Running a Stop Sign||50 points|
|Improper Lookout||50 points|
|Improper Passing||50 points|
|Improper Turn||50 points|
|Negligent Collision||50 points|
|Other Moving Violations||40-60 points|
NOTE: Points may vary plus or minus 10 percent depending upon severity of the conviction. Certain serious violations, such as DUI, require mandatory suspension or revocation and are not included in the points system.
A driver under 21 years of age, who accumulates 70 or more points in three years, may be suspended or denied for one month to a year, depending upon the severity of the person's driving record.
A driver 21 years of age or older, who accumulates 200 or more points in three years, may be suspended for three months to a year, depending upon the severity of the person's driving record.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing though there have been cases which have found that it could be considered a form of protected speech.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Utah does not have a state law governing red light fines or the use of traffic cameras for red light enforcement.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to at least two times the original fine.
Under a separate law, all drivers are required to comply with any lawful order or direction of a peace officer, fireman, or flagger at a highway work zone.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least two seconds in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.