Got Questions? We've Got Answers.
Check out our FAQs for Texas Defensive Driving.
Get Your Questions Answered and Sign Up for Our Texas Defensive Driving Course to Fix Your Ticket.
It’s the cheapest and fastest defensive driving course permitted by law. Our course offers a high-quality program that is simple to complete. We're so sure that you'll enjoy our course that we offer every student peace of mind with our Money Back Guarantee.
General Information About Our Texas Defensive Driving Course
Yes, TrafficSchoolOnline.com is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), formerly the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Our Course Provider number is CP058, and our Driving Safety School License number is C2182.
The State of Texas requires that Defensive Driving courses include at least 5 hours of course material, with a 60 minute break. Our course has been designed to include all of the necessary information in the shortest time allowable by Texas law.
You will be required to take at least 60 minutes of break time during the program, but you can take more if you choose to. The course is self-paced, meaning you can log out and take a break whenever you want. The course is broken into 10 units with a 10-question quiz at the end of each unit. You only need to score 70% on each of the quizzes to pass.
There is no final exam for the Texas Defensive Driving course. When you complete the last unit, you’re completely done!
Standard USPS mail delivery of your certificate is included with the course price, but if you need your certificate sooner you have the option to upgrade to express shipping. Our available shipping methods are:
- USPS Standard Mail (3-9 business days) - FREE
- FedEx Two-Day Delivery - $25.00
- FedEx Next Business Morning Priority Delivery - $35.00
If you complete the course before 2:00 p.m. CST Monday through Friday, your certificate will be sent the same day! Otherwise, we will send it out the very next business day.
When you complete the course, we will mail you a two-part certificate of completion. One portion is for the court, and the other is for your insurance company. You’ll need to detach and sign the court certificate, and then submit it to your court prior to your due date.
Yes. The course is mobile-compatible and includes audio narration so that you don’t have to worry about reading small text on a small screen. You’ll have the freedom to access the course from anywhere as long as you have an internet connection.
Yes. The course is 100% online from start to finish. You can complete the course from anywhere as long as you have an internet connection, and you will not be asked to go anywhere in person.
Eligibility / Requirements for Taking a Texas Defensive Driving Course
You may take a defensive driving course to dismiss a traffic violation once every 12 months. Insurance discounts for defensive driving courses expire every three years.
You may take a Defensive Driving course to dismiss a traffic violation once every 12 months. Before enrolling in a Defensive Driving course, you must first contact your jurisdictional court and request permission. Your court will most likely grant you permission to attend Defensive Driving if you meet all of the following requirements:
- You do not hold a commercial driver's license (CDL).
- You plead guilty or sign a statement that declares you don't contest the ticket (nolo contender).
- You were not cited for speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 25 MPH or more.
- You were not cited for speeding 95 MPH or more.
What if you didn’t get a ticket, and instead you’re just looking for an insurance discount? In the State of Texas, you can take a Defensive Driving course and submit your certificate of completion to your insurance company to receive a discount. The discount will be in effect for 3 years, and you may take Defensive Driving every 3 years to continue your insurance discount.
When your court grants you permission to attend a Defensive Driving course, they will assign you a due date. You must complete the course, and submit your certificate of completion to the court prior to this due date. The Defensive Driving course is self-paced, meaning you can log in and out of the course whenever you like, and you can take as much time as you need on it. The only limitation is your court due date.
If your due date is approaching and you are concerned about receiving your certificate of completion in time, we recommend that you take advantage of our express shipping options.
Yes. When you complete the course for ticket dismissal, you will automatically receive a certificate to turn in to your insurance company. We will mail you a two-part certificate of completion - one portion is for the court, and the other is for your insurance company.
Fees and Fines for TX Traffic Violations
The entire cost for the course is just $25.00, which includes standard USPS delivery of your certificate of completion.
If you’re looking for the lowest price, your search is over! The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation does not permit Driving Safety Schools to charge less than $25.00. This is why we can guarantee that you won’t find a lower price anywhere.
Before you sign up for the course, you’ll need to contact your court and make arrangements to pay your court fine and any related fees.
Yes. The purpose of taking Defensive Driving is to keep points off your driving record, and to keep your insurance premiums low. Before you take the course, you must make arrangements to pay your court fine, and request permission from the court to take a Defensive Driving course.
When you complete the course, we will mail you a two-part certificate of completion. One portion is for the court, and the other is for your insurance company. You’ll need to detach and sign the insurance certificate, and then submit it to your insurance company in order to be eligible for a discount.