Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Tennessee! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Tennessee. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Convictions of moving traffic violations which occurred more than two (2) years prior to the Department's receipt of such report or notice shall not be used within the Driver Improvement Program.
The Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA) 55-12-102(12) references minimum limits of liability for the state of Tennessee which currently are:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 500 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing though there have been cases which have found that it could be considered a form of protected speech.
If a person is convicted of DUI with a passenger under the age of 18, the person's sentence shall be enhanced by a mandatory minimum period of 30 days and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000. Both incarceration and fine are in addition to any punishment imposed by the DUI statute.
May be required in addition to any other penalties. Mandatory if:
In Tennessee, the open container law prohibits a driver from possessing or consuming an alcoholic beverage or beer while operating a motor vehicle. The law further specifies that a motor vehicle is in operation if its engine is operating, whether or not the motor vehicle is moving.
Tennessee law also provides that any municipality, by ordinance, or any county, by resolution, may prohibit passengers of a motor vehicle from consuming or possessing an alcoholic beverage or beer in an open container during the operation of the vehicle by its driver.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to an enhanced fine of $250 - $500.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 50 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.