Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to South Carolina! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in South Carolina. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Points posted to your driving record will be reduced by half after one year. For example, if four points were posted to your record in June, the points would be reduced to two points in June of the following year. If you have multiple convictions, the points will be reduced according to the date each conviction was posted to your record.
South Carolina's Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law was designed to protect citizens against financially irresponsible drivers who are involved in motor vehicle accidents. South Carolina Law requires every owner of a vehicle that is required to be registered in this state to maintain liability insurance or, if qualified, pay $550.00 for registering as an uninsured vehicle.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
A person 18 who commits a DUI, a driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration or DUI-great bodily injury offense while transporting a child less than 16 is subject to additional jail and fine sanctions which are equal to not more than one-half the maximum jail and fine sanctions for these offenses. These sanctions are mandatory if the jail or fine sanctions have been imposed for the original offense. Also, mandatory license suspension for 60 days.
Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program required for all offenders.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Speeding violations are subject to enhanced penalties of $75 - $200, up to 30 days in jail, or both, whether or not workers are present.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
You are required to pass at a safe distance.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.