Nevada New Resident Guide

Welcome to the Silver State – Nevada! Before you venture out on our roads, it's key to be well-informed about our state-specific traffic regulations and customs. Here's a concise overview to guide you through Nevada's vast expanses, from its shimmering desert landscapes to the bustling streets of Las Vegas. While many driving protocols might seem standard, it's essential to be cognizant of the nuances that make Nevada's roadways unique.


Fix your ticket now

Select a state for pricing and details:

Licensing and Residency Requirements


  • New Nevada residents must obtain their driver's license and vehicle registration within 30 days.
  • Nevada law requires motorists to notify the DMV of a change of address within 30 days of the move, including residents who are leaving the state permanently.

Graduated Licensing Program


Learner's Permit


  • 15 years and 6 months;
  • Must pass a vision screening and written exam.

Privileges and Restrictions

  • Allows you to operate a motor vehicle when a licensed driver at least 21 years of age is seated beside you.
  • The accompanying driver may be 18 years of age if is a legal guardian or sibling.


Provisional License


  • Must hold permit for at least 9 months.
  • Must be at least 16 years and 3 months old.
  • Must have accumulated 45 hours of supervised driving, 15 of which must be at night.
  • Must pass the road skills test.

Privileges and Restrictions

  • May not drive unsupervised between midnight and 4 AM except when driving:
    • To or from employment;
    • To or from adult-supervised activity sponsored by civic, religious, or public organization
    • In case of emergency.
  • Provisional license holders under 18 are prohibited from transporting more than 1 passenger under 21 for the first year they hold their license
  • After the first year, provisional license holders are prohibited from transporting more than 3 passengers under 21 until they reach age 18 unless driving to and from a school activity or accompanied by a passenger age 21 or older.
  • Family members are exempted from all passenger restrictions.


Unrestricted License


  • At 18, teens are eligible for an unrestricted license.

Violation Point Counts


8 Point Violations

  • Reckless driving.

6 Point Violations

  • Careless driving.
  • Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident.


5 Point Violations

  • Speeding 41 mph or more over the posted limit.


4 Point Violations

  • Following too closely.
  • Failure to yield right-of-way.
  • Passing a school bus when signals are flashing.
  • Hand-held cellphone use or texting (2nd and subsequent offenses).
  • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign.
  • Speeding 31 - 40 mph over the posted limit.


3 Point Violations

  • Speeding 21 - 30 mph over the posted limit.


2 Point Violations

  • Impeding traffic, driving too slowly.
  • Failure to dim headlights.
  • Speeding 11 - 20 mph over posted limit.
  • Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions.


1 Point Violations

  • Speeding 1 - 10 mph over posted limit.


How Long Points Remain on Record

  • If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by completing a DMV-approved traffic safety course.
  • The demerit points for a violation are deleted when 12 months have elapsed from the date of conviction. Convictions remain part of your permanent driving record.
  • 3 or more points - mailed notification from Driver License Review Section.
  • 3 to 11 points - may take a traffic safety course to have 3 points removed.
  • 12 or more points in any 12-month period - automatic 6-month suspension.
  • The demerit points for a violation are deleted when 12 months have elapsed from the date of conviction. Convictions remain part of your permanent driving record.

Insurance Requirements


Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry minimum coverage of:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident;
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident; and
  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

Coverage must be validated by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Nevada.

Headlight Laws


You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.

You must use your headlights:

  • From a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise
  • When there is insufficient light
  • Whenever persons or vehicles cannot be clearly seen at a distance of 1,000 feet
  • When directed by an official traffic control device

There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.

Implied Consent Laws


License Revocation (no time period listed in statute).

DUI Penalties


First offense (within 7 years) (misdemeanor)

  • 2 days - 6 months imprisonment
  • $400 - $1,000
  • 45 - 90 days license revocation


Second offense (within 7 years) (misdemeanor)

  • 10 days - 6 months imprisonment
  • $750 - $1,000 fine
  • 1 year license revocation


Third offense (within 7 years) (category B felony)

  • 1 year - 6 years imprisonment
  • $2,000 - $5,000 fine
  • 1 1/2 - 3 years license revocation

Subsequent offense (within 7 years) (category B felony)

  • 2 - 15 years imprisonment
  • $2,000 - $5,000 fine
  • 1 1/2 - 3 years license revocation



Community service

  • May be ordered as an alternative sanction, or as a condition of any suspended sentence

Child endangerment

  • If a child less than 15 was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense, such fact shall be considered an aggravating factor when determining sentence

Alcohol treatment program

  • Where the offender is diagnosed as an alcoholic or abuser of drugs, the offender must serve some jail time and/or perform community service, and pay a fine. The court shall sentence the defendant to an all-suspended sentence upon condition of successful or satisfactory completion.

Work zone

  • In addition to the primary penalty attributed to a DUI offense, any person violating a DUI law within a work zone is subject to an additional penalty equal to the original, not to exceed $1,000, 6 months imprisonment or 120 hours of community service.

Ignition interlock

  • For defendants with BAC under .18, available as condition for restricted driving privileges for 3 - 6 months
  • For third or subsequent offense, or BAC over .18, mandatory for 12 - 36 months

Open Container Law


The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.

Red Light Violation Fines


  • Traditional enforcement: $1,000 maximum fine, 4 points
  • Auto enforcement: Imaging equipment prohibited unless handheld by an officer or installed in a vehicle or facility of a law enforcement agency

Construction Zone Penalties


Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to two times the original fine up to a total of $1,000, 6 months jail, or 120 hours community service.

Turn Signal Information


In any business or residential district, signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance. In any other area, signal at least 300 feet in advance.

Hazard Light Information


Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.

Funeral Procession Right-of-Way Laws


The law authorizes a vehicle escorting a funeral procession to:

  1. Go through a red light or stop sign after slowing down as necessary,
  2. Exceed the posted speed limit by up to 15 miles per hour to overtake the procession and direct traffic at the next intersection, and
  3. Disregard regulations on the direction of movement or turning when directing the movement of the other vehicles in the procession (Nev. Rev. Stat. 484.261).

While these privileges are part of the law authorizing special actions by police and other emergency vehicles, the law does not expressly require a funeral escort vehicle to be such a police or emergency vehicle.

School Bus Laws



  • Vehicles are required to stop unless traveling on the opposite side of a divided highway.



  • Failure to stop and remain stopped when required is a misdemeanor, and will result in a $250 - $500 fine.

Bicyclist Passing Distance


A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.

Motorcycle Laws



  • A person may not apply for a motorcycle license unless he or she is 16 years of age, has successfully completed any examinations issued by the DMV, and has completed a course of motorcycle safety.
  • The other requirements are the same as for a regular license.


Protective Gear

  • Whenever operating a motorcycle, the driver and passenger shall wear a securely fastened helmet and protective glasses, goggles, or face shields. If a motorcycle is equipped with a transparent windscreen, the driver need not wear glasses, goggles, or face shields.



  • Every motorcycle or moped operated upon a highway at any time from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, and at any other time when persons and vehicles are not visible from 1,000 feet away, must display lighted lamps and illuminating devices.


Sharing the Road

  • Lane splitting is not authorized.
  • Two motorcycles may travel side-by-side in a single lane.

Using the Shoulder to Pass


  • You may pass a left-turning vehicle on the right by driving upon an unobstructed section of pavement that is not marked as a traffic lane and which is not occupied by parked vehicles, if:
    • You do not travel more than 200 feet in such a section of pavement.
    • You do not travel through an intersection or past any private way that is used to enter or exit the highway.
  • You may never pass a left-turning vehicle on the right by driving off the paved portion of the highway.

Passing Laws


Do Not Pass:

  • When approaching or upon a hill or curve.
  • When approaching within 100 feet of or traversing any intersection or railroad grade crossing.
  • When approaching within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct, or tunnel.l


When Being Passed:

  • Give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle upon observing the vehicle or hearing a signal.
  • The overtaking vehicle may signal by honking its horn.
  • Do not increase the speed of your vehicle until completely passed by the overtaking vehicle.

Speed Limits


  • I. A person shall not operate any vehicle at a speed greater than 75 mph.
  • II. A person shall not operate a motor vehicle at a speed of greater than 15 mph in a school zone for an elementary school or any school that includes pupils in elementary school grades; or greater than 25 mph in an area designated as a school zone for a high school or a school crossing zone.

Safety Belt and Child Safety Seat Laws


Safety Belts

  • Occupants 6 years and older must wear safety belts.
  • Police may not stop vehicles solely for belt law violations.
  • The fine for a first offense is $25.


Child Seats

  • Children 5 years and younger who are 60 pounds or less must be in a child seat, and may not use an adult safety belt.
  • Police may stop vehicles solely for child seat law violations.
  • The penalty for a first offense is a $100 - $500 fine or 10 - 50 hours of community service.

Emergency Vehicle Laws


Move Over

  • When you see any of these vehicles displaying flashing lights while stopped on or adjacent to the roadway:
    • Emergency vehicle
    • Tow car
  • You must do the following:
    • Decrease the speed of the vehicle to a speed that is reasonable and proper and less than the posted speed limit, if a speed limit has been posted;
    • Proceed with caution
    • Be prepared to stop; and
    • If possible, drive in a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which the emergency vehicle or tow car is stopped, unless roadway, traffic, weather or other conditions make doing so unsafe or impossible.



  • Do not follow a fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than 500 feet, or drive into or park within 500 feet of where the fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm.


Collision Procedures

  • Stop at the scene or as close as possible without obstructing traffic more than necessary, and remain at the scene until all requirements are fulfilled
  • You must provide the following information to any other person involved in the accident, or any police officer at the scene of the crash:
    • Driver's name and address
    • Vehicle registration number
    • Show driver's license upon request
  • Provide assistance to any injured person, including transporting them or making arrangements for transportation to a hospital or doctor, if necessary or requested.
  • Unattended vehicle or property
    • If you have collided with a vehicle or other property that is unattended, locate and notify the operator or owner if possible.
    • If you are unable to do so, leave a written notice providing the name and address of the driver and owner.
    • You must immediately notify a police authority or the Nevada Highway Patrol. If the driver is unable to make the report, any other occupant of the vehicle who is able to must do so.
  • Report crash
    • If no police officer is present, you must report the accident to a police authority or the Nevada Highway Patrol as soon as you have fulfilled all other requirements
    • If the crash resulted in injury, death, or property damage of $750 or more, you must report the accident in writing within 10 days after the accident unless the accident was investigated by a law enforcement officer.