Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Oregon! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Oregon. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Oregon does not have a point system, but traffic violations are still recorded on your driving record.
Oregon law requires every driver to insure their vehicles by at least these minimum amounts:
Oregon law also requires every motor vehicle liability policy to provide:
Driving without liability insurance could result in fines, suspension of your driving privileges, and in some areas your vehicle could be towed. if your vehicle is towed, you are also subject to towing and storage fees.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 350 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
It is illegal to flash any lights as a courtesy or a "do pass" signal to drivers approaching from the rear.
If the driver has a passenger who is under age 18 and at least three years younger than the driver, the court may impose a maximum fine of $10,000 in addition to other penalties.
If the offense occurred in a school or work zone, there is a minimum mandatory fine which is equal to: (1) 20 percent of the maximum fine for a misdemeanor offense; and (2) 2 percent of the maximum fine for a felony offense.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Numerous specified violations are subject to minimum enhanced penalties whether or not workers are present:
Under a separate law, reckless endangerment of highway workers and refusing to obey a flagger are both Class A misdemeanors, each punishable by a fine up to $5,000 or 1 year in jail.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
You are required to pass at a safe distance.
You may pass a left-turning vehicle on the right when the paved portion of the highway is wide enough to allow two or more lanes of vehicles to proceed lawfully in the same direction, and the roadway ahead is unobstructed to permit safe passing.