Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Oklahoma! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Oklahoma. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
If you accumulate 10 or more points within five years, your license will be suspended.
Compulsory liability Insurance-All Oklahoma drivers and/or vehicle owners are required by law to carry the minimum limits of liability for this state:
By law, you must show proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer or representative of the Department of Public Safety when asked. If you are in a collision, you must show your proof of insurance to the other driver and to the other people involved.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 1,000 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 600 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Oklahoma does not have a state law governing red light fines or the use of traffic cameras for red light enforcement.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to two times the original fine.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet or 1/3 of a block in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.
State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including wreckers, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do, or slow to a speed safe for road, weather, and traffic conditions.