Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to North Carolina! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in North Carolina. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Points do not drop off record automatically.
If you accumulate seven points, you may be assigned to a driver improvement clinic.
If you accumulate as many as 12 points within a three-year period, your license may be suspended.
The accumulation of eight points within three years following the reinstatement of your license can result in a second suspension.
If your driver license is suspended by the point system, it may be taken for:
In addition to proof of ownership, North Carolina law requires that before a motor vehicle can be licensed, the owner must certify that the vehicle is covered by liability insurance. This can be in the form of a liability insurance policy issued from a company licensed to do business in the State of North Carolina, cash or bond deposited with the State Treasurer or a certificate of self -insurance for fleets of 25 or more vehicles. This law is enacted to ensure that the costs of a crash are paid by those who are responsible.
The minimum amount of liability insurance required is:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or person, or when following another vehicle.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
After hearing mitigate and aggravating factors, a court determines which level punishment to impose.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Speeding violations are subject to an additional $250 fine, whether or not workers are present.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance. If the speed limit is 45 mph or more, signal at least 200 feet in advance. The faster you are driving, the farther ahead you should signal.
Hazard light use is permitted.
There is no specific law regarding minimum safe passing distance.
You may pass a left-turning vehicle that is in a lane designated for left turns.