Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to New Mexico! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in New Mexico. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
|6 points||Upon the accumulation by the driver of at least six points, the Department may warn the driver of the possibility of suspension of the driver's license.|
|7 to 10 points||If a driver has been assessed from seven to ten points for violations occurring within a period of one year and the Department receives a recommendation from a municipal or magistrate judge that the driver's license be suspended for a period not to exceed three months, the Department shall automatically suspend the license for the period recommended by the municipal or magistrate judge up to a period of three months.|
|12 or more points||Upon the assessment of points to a driver which causes the total points accumulated by that driver to equal or exceed twelve points for violations occurring within a period of twelve consecutive months, the Department shall suspend the driver's license for a period of twelve months.|
If the applicant's license has been suspended for points, he or she must take the Traffic Safety Bureau (TSB) approved 8 hour Driving Safety course.
Everyone who operates a motor vehicle in New Mexico must have a motor vehicle liability insurance policy. The Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act requires that proof of such insurance be carried in the vehicle at all times. The law specifies that you must carry a minimum amount of coverage to enable you to pay for damages arising because of motor vehicle accidents.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
License Revocation for 1 year.
New Mexico's open container law requires that no person shall "knowingly" drink alcohol while in a motor vehicle or "knowingly" possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage while in a motor vehicle.
$75 maximum civil penalty; no points or criminal sanctions; municipality retains operating costs; balance to court construction, drug courts and DWI prevention.
Speeding violations are subject to two times the original fine, whether or not workers are present.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard lights are permitted on disabled or parked vehicles.
There is no specific law regarding minimum safe passing distance.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.