Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Montana! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Montana. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
When determined by the record that an individual has 30 habitual offender points within three years, the Driver Control Bureau revokes the driver license for a period of three years. A person revoked as a Habitual Traffic Offender may apply for a probationary license after serving one year of the three year revocation, if eligible. Depending on the past driving history, proof of financial responsibility must be filed with the Motor Vehicle Division and all driver license fees must be paid and tests completed before a license is issued.
Liability insurance is mandatory (except for motorcycles). Owners shall continuously provide insurance of not less than:
This insurance must be in effect in the vehicle being operated. You must carry your insurance card, issued by an insurance company, and exhibit it upon demand by a law enforcement officer.
Dim high beam headlights when meeting other cars, when 1000 feet away. Turn off high beam headlights when 500 feet behind other vehicles.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
Montana's open container law makes it unlawful for a person to "knowingly" possess an open alcoholic beverage container while in the passenger area of a motor vehicle.
In any business, residential, or urban district, signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance. In any other area, for example in rural areas, signal at least 300 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
You are required to pass at a safe distance.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.