Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Louisiana! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Louisiana. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Louisiana does not have a point system, but traffic violations are still recorded on your driving record.
The minimum requirements for auto insurance in Louisiana are 15/30/25. That is, in a single accident, the limits are:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
Not less than 10 days or more than 6 months and not less than $300 or more than $1,000.
Restricted license may be granted during the suspension period under some circumstances so long as an ignition interlock device is installed and operative.
Louisiana's open container law applies only to drivers and includes exceptions for:
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to two times the original fine.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance. A greater distance is suggested when driving at faster speeds or in heavy traffic.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.