Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Colorado! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Colorado. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Driving records reflect all activity posted for the last seven years.
Adult Driver (21 and older):
Minor Driver (18 thru 20 years of age):
Under the Age of 18:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
Colorado's open container law makes it unlawful for a person to "knowingly" possess an open alcoholic beverage container while in the passenger area of a motor vehicle on a public highway or right-of-way of a public highway.
All traffic violations are subject to two times the original fine, whether or not workers are present.
On four-lane highways where the posted speed limit is more than 40 MPH, you must signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 200 feet in advance.
In other situations, such as urban or metropolitan areas, signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted only when the vehicle is stopped or being operated at 25 MPH or less, for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking, or passing.
It is a class 2 misdemeanor to knowingly obstruct a highway or other passageway where a funeral procession is taking place.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.
When you see any of these vehicles displaying flashing lights while stopped on or adjacent to the roadway:
You must do the following:
Do not follow a fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than 500 feet, or drive into or park within the block where the fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm.
Provide the following information to any other person involved in the accident, or to any police officer at the scene of the crash: