Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Alaska! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Alaska. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
If you are under 21 years of age, your drivers license will expire 90 days after your 21st birthday. An alcohol awareness test must be passed prior to renewing.
Accumulating 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months requires the mandatory suspension or revocation of driving privileges.
Vehicle owners or drivers who are at fault in a collision are required to pay for any damage or injury caused to another person. If there is a reasonable possibility that you may be found liable in a civil court, your privilege to drive will be suspended for up to three years. You can end your suspension, at any time during the three-year period, by making a financial settlement with the other parties involved in the crash.
Requires either the vehicle owner or driver to carry liability insurance.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
Note: Ignition interlock throughout the period of probation.
Alaska's open container law provides an exception for motor-driven cycles.
Failure to stop for steady red traffic signal : $150/4 Points
All traffic violations are subject to two times the original fine, whether or not workers are present.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
As a safety precaution, the signal may be given from a greater distance when warranted by traffic conditions or the higher speeds of your vehicle.
Hazard light use is required to warn other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
Hazard light use is not permitted:
No driver of a vehicle may drive between or position his vehicle between any vehicles comprising a funeral or other authorized procession while they are in motion. This provision does not apply at intersections where traffic is controlled by traffic-control signals or a police officer, fireman, or authorized flagman.
Each driver in a funeral or other procession shall drive as near to the right-hand edge of the roadway as practicable and shall follow the vehicle ahead as close as is practicable and safe.
There is no specific law regarding minimum safe passing distance.
You may only pass a left-turning vehicle on the right if you can do so safely. Alaska law does provide any restrictions on where you must drive upon the roadway or shoulder when passing on the right.
When you see any of these vehicles displaying flashing lights while stopped on or adjacent to the roadway:
You must do the following:
Provide the following information to any other person involved in the accident, or to any police officer at the scene of the crash: