Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Pennsylvania! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Pennsylvania. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Three (3) points are removed from a driving record for each 12 consecutive months in which a person is not under suspension or revocation or has not committed any violation which results in the assignment of points or in suspension or revocation under Chapter 15 of the Vehicle Code. Once a driving record is reduced to zero points and remains at zero points for 12 consecutive months, any further accumulation of points will be regarded as the first accumulation of points.
Drivers must purchase and maintain car insurance in order to legally drive in Pennsylvania . Under Pennsylvania law, this is called maintaining "financial responsibility" on your vehicles.
Limited or Full Tort - You can choose to have full or limited tort coverage. Limited tort coverage offers you a savings on your premiums. You are still able to recover all out-of-pocket medical and other expenses; however, you are not able to recover certain damages - such as payments for pain and suffering - unless the injuries meet one of the exceptions to limited tort as defined in Act 6 of 1990, title 75, section 1705 (d). With full tort coverage selection, you retain unrestricted rights to bring suit against the negligent party.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or when within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you
You must use your headlights:
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Numerous specified violations when workers are present are subject to two times the original fine.
If you are driving less than 35 mph, signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance. If you are driving 35 mph or more, you must signal at least 300 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted in the following circumstances, for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of extraordinary care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
Hazard light use is not permitted in the following circumstances:
A 4-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may pass a left-turning vehicle on the right as long as you do not drive off the berm or shoulder of the highway. You may not drive off the roadway when passing a vehicle not making a left turn.