Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to North Dakota! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in North Dakota. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
|24 Points||Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle|
|18 Points||Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death|
|14 Points||Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage|
|12 Points||Aggravated reckless driving|
|10 Points||Racing in a motor vehicle|
|8 Points||Reckless driving|
|11 - 15 mph over limit||1 point|
|16 - 20 mph over limit||3 points|
|21 - 25 mph over limit||5 points|
|26 - 35 mph over limit||9 points|
|36 - 45 mph over limit||12 points|
|46 mph plus over limit||15 points|
|1 - 5 mph over limit||0 points|
|6 - 10 mph over limit||1 point|
|11 - 15 mph over limit||3 points|
|16 - 20 mph over limit||5 points|
|21 - 25 mph over limit||7 points|
|26 - 30 mph over limit||10 points|
|31 - 35 mph over limit||12 points|
|36 mph plus over limit||15 points|
"No liability insurance" may be assigned 6, 12, or 14 points.
The point total on your driving record can be reduced:
Driving license or privileges shall be suspended upon an accumulation of twelve points for a period of seven days for each point over eleven.
For drivers under the age of 18, driving license or privileges will be canceled upon an accumulation of six or more points.
State law requires that each motor vehicle carry a minimum of:
A person may not drive, or the owner may not cause or knowingly permit to be driven, a motor vehicle in this state without a valid policy of liability insurance to include the no-fault, in effect. Upon stopping a motor vehicle for any other statutory violation, a law enforcement officer, who is authorized to issue traffic citations, shall verify that the insurance card is in the motor vehicle.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
The North Dakota Supreme Court ruled in 2007 that flashing one's high beams at another driver was a violation of N.D.C.C. § 39-21-21. The statute says that drivers must use low beam headlights within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle and within 300 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of them, and provides no exceptions for momentary flashing of high beams. The court concluded that the statute prohibits the use of high beam headlights within these distances, for any length of time and for any purpose.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
North Dakota does not have a state law governing red light fines or the use of traffic cameras for red light enforcement.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to an enhanced fine of $80 minimum.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
There is no specific law regarding minimum safe passing distance.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.
State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including wreckers and highway maintenance vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a safe speed.