Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Mississippi! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Mississippi. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Mississippi does not have a point system, but traffic violations are still recorded on your driving record.
Insurance limits for such coverage are at least:
Every motor vehicle operated in this state shall have an insurance card maintained in the vehicle as proof of liability insurance that is in compliance with the liability limits required above. The insured parties shall be responsible for maintaining the insurance card in each vehicle.
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 500 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
Mississippi does not have an open container law.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to a $250 enhanced fine for a first offense, and two times the original fine for subsequent offenses.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes for a reasonable distance before turning.
Hazard light use is permitted.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.