Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Minnesota! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Minnesota. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Minnesota does not have a point system, but traffic violations are still recorded on your driving record.
Minnesota requires all licensed vehicles to have PIP, Liability, Uninsured, and Underinsured coverage in the following amounts:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 1,000 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
The Minnesota Court of Appeals ruled in 2012 that briefly flashing one's high beams at another driver within the distance where high beams are prohibited, without evidence that the flashing was "glaring" to the other driver, was not a violation of the law.
Some penalties are determined based on the number of aggravating factors. Others are determined based solely on number of previous offenses.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Minnesota does not have a state law governing red light fines or the use of traffic cameras for red light enforcement.
Speeding violations when workers are present are subject to two times the original fine, or an additional fine of $25, whichever is larger.
Signal your intention to turn or change lanes at least 100 feet in advance.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing.
A 3-foot minimum passing distance is required.
You may not drive off the roadway to pass on the right.
The speed limit is increased by 10 MPH over the posted speed limit when the driver: