Open for business!
There's no better time to take an online traffic school course, and there's no better course than Traffic School Online: it's 100% online!
Welcome to Massachusetts! As a new driver to this state you will need to be aware of our unique traffic laws and regulations. Here's what you need to keep in mind while driving in Massachusetts. Some of these rules may be the same as what you're already used to, but others will be drastically different!
Massachusetts' point system, called the Safe Driver Insurance Program, allows the state to collect and exchange private passenger motor vehicle insurance claim and traffic law violation data. The point system lowers premiums for drivers with clean driving records, and increases premiums for drivers with traffic violations and at-fault accidents.
Value of Surcharge Points Assigned to Surchargeable Incidents:
|Minor Traffic Law Violation||2 points|
|Minor At-Fault Accident||3 points|
|Major At-Fault Accident||4 points|
|Major Traffic Law Violation||5 points|
The experience period of a policy is the 6-year period that immediately precedes the policy's effective date. Surcharge points are applied to only surchargeable incidents that fall within the policy experience period. No surcharge points are assigned to any surchargeable incident in the sixth (oldest) year of the policy experience period.
In order to register and drive your vehicle in Massachusetts, you are required to at least purchase these auto coverages and limits:
You must dim your headlights from high to low beam when you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 200 feet of a vehicle traveling ahead of you.
You must use your headlights:
There is no specific law allowing or prohibiting headlight flashing.
The Open Container Law prohibits possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in the passenger area of any motor vehicle, by any occupant of the vehicle, on any public highway or right of way, whether or not the vehicle is in motion.
Massachusetts does not have a state law governing red light fines or the use of traffic cameras for red light enforcement.
Speeding violations are subject to two times the original fine, whether or not workers are present.
You must signal your intention to turn or change lanes in advance of your maneuver.
Hazard light use is permitted for the purpose of warning other drivers of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard.
You are required to pass at a safe distance.
You may only pass a left-turning vehicle on the right if the roadway is free from obstruction and of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles.
Drivers traveling in the same direction and approaching a stationary emergency vehicle, highway maintenance vehicle, or tow or recovery vehicle with flashing lights must slow down to a safe speed and, if practicable, move to a non-adjacent lane.