Bexar County Eligibility Requirements
When you get a traffic ticket in Bexar county, or anywhere else in Texas, you’ll need the court's approval to take a Driving Safety course in order to have your ticket dismissed. The name of the court will be shown on your citation - contact them directly to request permission to attend. In order to receive the court’s permission, there are a few qualifications you must meet:
- You must have a valid Texas driver's license
- You have not taken a Driving Safety course for ticket dismissal within the last 12 months
- You were not cited for speeding more than 24 MPH over the posted speed limit
You must make your request to attend a Driving Safety course on or prior to your court appearance date, and you will be required to submit an affidavit stating that you meet the above qualifications.
You must also request a copy of your driving record from the Texas DPS and then submit your driving record to the court as verification that you have not attended a Driving Safety course for ticket dismissal within the last year. You will also be required to provide the court with proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance).
Once you've received the court's permission, and have paid any fines you owe to the court, you will have 90 days to complete your course, from the date that you signed the affidavit.